Daily Archives: August 30, 2008

Debt-be-Gone Roundup

Whew! It’s official. I no longer have any credit card debt. Yahoo! This is the first time in my entire credit history that I am not carrying a balance on any cards. I managed to pay the cards off ahead of my original schedule. Now that I have altered my mindset about spending, I have some ambitious goals for the next few years. I know that to keep the steam going, I’ll need lots of positive reinforcement. So, to the weekly roundup. Here are some of the best articles I read this week in the world of personal finance.

Carnivals

I entered three carnivals this week, and each one was full of great ideas and stories. First up, the Carnival of Money Stories was hosted by Not the Jet Set. The Happy Rock describes a new stage in his financial journey. He’s so right that it is a journey and not an end-point. I need to start doing some serious reflection on our finances now that I’ve reached my first financial goal. No More Spending has cancelled all her magazine subscriptions. I love it! I’m finding that I get a lot better information from our network of PF blogs than I do from the latest glossy mag. Retired at 47 shares his early experiences planning for early retirement. His experience reminds me that even with careful planning, things might not go exactly as you want. I contributed my thoughts on savings; I know that we have to get serious about it to reach our goals!

Next up, I was in the always-popular Festival of Frugality over at FIRE Finance. If you’ve never visited, be sure to check out their ranking of top PF blogs. It’s a treasure trove of great blogs. Miss Thrifty shares an awesome afternoon with her frugal grandma. I want to visit! Art of the Coupon reminds us why being frugal and being green are two sides of the same coin. Everything Finance blogs about your future without debt. I know I like the sound of that! On this carnival, you’ll find my ideas about “how to cook a wolf.”

Last, but not least, I was in the Make It From Scratch Carnival at Learning the Ropes. She pulled everything together into a plan for one amazing party. I plan to try Funny About Money’s tip to use olive oil as hair conditioner. I also want to see if I can attempt homemade pita bread, thanks to Happy to be at Home‘s recipe. I don’t know if I can get to all of these, but RN Central offers 99 ways to make your home healthier! Lastly, I contributed a quick, inexpensive dinner to use up those tomatoes.

From my regular blog reading, I liked We Like Money‘s review of the 7 “debtly” sins. Get Rich Slowly has some excellent advice for budget planning. Almost Frugal offers some clever, frugal gifts. Simple Mom has put together her first eBook, full of tips for spring cleaning for normal people. Check it out! Blogging Away Debt examines the benefits of paying in cash rather than credit.

That’s all for this week. Next week, I’ll starting thinking about what our next financial goal should be. I’ve also got to get back on track with those “snowflakes,” by selling a few things on craigslist. Enjoy your long weekend!