Spending My Way to a Snowflake

Over the weekend, I splurged and bought a beautiful wrap for $43 at our favorite local gift/antique shop. I didn’t plan ahead nor did I even have the item in mind when I walked into the store. However, I have been thinking lately that I’d like a shawl or pashmina for summer evenings out and air travel. I’ve got two trips coming up, so it will be really useful. Finally, I had only spent $13 out of my monthly $90 Target budget, and I had saved $150 on wedding invitations. So, I paid cash for it out of the Target budget, it will be useful, and I’ll wear it tomorrow (an old shopping rule I had with a friend).

Why do I feel guilty? Well, because that $43 COULD have been a snowflake. I’ve set a lofty goal of $400 in snowflakes this month. Lately, most of my snowflakes come from extra money in my monthly budget. $43 is significant, especially compared to the $0.83 I made on mTurk yesterday and the $1.58 refund I got in the mail. I could just return the wrap, but I REALLY love it and want to keep it!

What to do? Well, I remembered that PaidTwice started her whole snowflaking concept by sending off an equivalent payment to her credit cards for anything she splurged on. I could just do that by shaving off some other budget lines for the month. Then, I remembered my “fun” budget. I’ve saved $400 to spend in San Francisco at the end of the month, probably on a lovely dress to wear after the wedding ceremony if it gets too hot (remember, we’re picnicking outside in July). I got to thinking about my plan and my current summer dress collection. I used to love to buy darling summer dresses; I now have at least four that are too dressy for much wear in my day-to-day life in small town Ohio. One of them would even go perfectly with my new wrap for the rehearsal dinner. Another one is a darling white, crocheted number that would match my veil if I decided to change at the reception. . .

Whala! A $200 snowflake! I’ve decided to re-set my budget for the trip at $200, perhaps for a smaller souvenir and a nice meal out with my friend. Come June, I’ll have another $200 in my “fun” budget. I can use that for shoes and any extra summer clothes I want. Now, I’m halfway to my snowflaking goal of $400, happy with my new wrap, and looking forward to wearing those lovely dresses the weekend of the wedding. Yay!

See, I just spent my way to a serious snowflake. Pretty cool, eh?

6 responses to “Spending My Way to a Snowflake

  1. Now that’s what I call smart thinking! I’m glad you were able to find the wrap you wanted and still work toward your goals painlessly. πŸ™‚ Happy Cinco de Mayo.

  2. Very good planning! I think by doing that you can enjoy your wrap and still snowflake, great compromise πŸ™‚

  3. If you’re gonna buy, this is the way to do it. At least you’re evening out the balance πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    BTW, it’s “VoilΓ ” πŸ˜‰

  4. mydailydollars

    Thanks everyone! I am very happy with the wrap. Shanti, you don’t like my American spin? Now I see why you’re such a good language tutor! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Snowflake Stress « My Daily Dollars

  6. Pingback: Carnival of Snowflaking #3: The ‘Get Motivated!’ Edition | Antishay Ventenne

Leave a Reply

