A Wedding Snowflake

Invitation budget: $420 Spent: $260 Saved: $160
Wedding Snowflake: $30

As many of you know, I’m planning my wedding for July. Now that the semester is over, I’m working a little more on the wedding. This week’s big task is to mail out the invitations. My frugal inserts look great, but did take about five hours of my time. There is a trade-off between saving money and saving time in the world of weddings! Fortunately, right now I have more time than money.

As others of you know, I love the idea of snowflaking, where you earn or save small amounts of money to throw to your debt. I’ve found that the idea has now infiltrated my wedding planning. I’m hoping to snowflake money from each category, just to make sure that I have enough for the big reception expenses close to the wedding. I’m on a tight budget, $4050 for approximately 65 guests. So far, I’ve spent $890 for my dress, the ceremony/reception site, save-the-date cards, invitations, thank-you cards, and stamps. My best category has been the invitations. Now that I have them assembled, I’m $120 under budget. So, what’s the $30 snowflake?

Well, Monday and yesterday, I was working on the wedding website and the announcement card with the URL. I had signed up for a free website through the Wedding Channel, but hated it. The picture I loaded was all off-center, and I didn’t have control of the code (like you do on WordPress). At the bottom, there were two offers for wedding websites, each 50% off. I like the Flash opening on the one that was $30 and almost signed up on the spot. However, I decided to think it over while I went rollerblading. Here’s where my Snowflaking Voice kicked in:

Me: It’s so cute! The template perfectly fits our outdoor, woodsy theme.
Snowflaking Voice (SV): But, do you need to spend $30 on a website?
Me: I’m under budget! I totally have $30 for it!
SV: Couldn’t you do a free blog on WordPress?
Me: But it wouldn’t have the cute template or the Flash opening!
SV: Do you really need a Flash opening? Don’t you hate those on real websites?
Me: But, I’ve been so good. I DESERVE a beautiful wedding website.
SV: Oh, you DESERVE it! I’ll be quiet now and let you mull that over.

You see, over the last few months of snowflaking, I have learned that the “I DESERVE it” line was often my justification for foolish purchases that snowflaked into my big snowball of debt.
The Snowflaking Voice knew it had me. Sure enough, when I got home, I googled “free wedding website,” found a perfect match for my thank-you cards on Mywedding.com, and happily spent the next two hours filling it out.

Yes, I could have spent the $30. It wasn’t a big deal, but I know that most of my expenses are yet to come. The more carefully I spend money now, the less worried I’ll be in July. As usual, once I slowed down and thought things through, I found a great deal and a snowflake. It’ll be fun to see what all those snowflakes add up to in July! Perhaps I should work some snow into the decorations in honor of my good work. πŸ™‚

2 responses to “A Wedding Snowflake

  1. 3princessesmomma

    YAY YOU! I have those little discussions in my head all the time. My DH is always trying to be the voice of reason and make me be practical. I find that that makes me more stubborn, but when left alone, I always hash out the best answer myself.

  2. mydailydollars

    @3princessesmomma

    Yes! Things go much more smoothly when the voice of reason is in MY head rather than when it comes from the future husband! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

