Best of the Blogroll and Carnivals: Friday Edition

Our family is heading out to do a little camping this weekend.  Since I won’t post over the weekend, I wanted to give you a roundup of the best that I’ve been reading in the world of PF blogs and more. I participated in four carnivals this week and came across some great reads.

Broke Grad Student brought us the “Back to School Edition” of the Carnival of Money Stories this week. So Cal Savvy posted an analysis of how “affordable” graduate school was for her. I know that grad school put me way behind on the life-long earning curve. Of course, there are some amazing fringe benefits to an academic’s life, so this kind of calculus can get really complicated. Over at the Organizing Blog, you’ll find a great article on budgeting; I especially like the long list of “forgotten categories.” Learning the Ropes describes how she converted her husband to the coupon-clipping life. I know mine was reluctant as well, until I bought two jugs of laundry soap for six cents! Finally at this carnival, you’ll find my post about back-to-school shopping. I’m still feeling pretty pleased about that trip.

One of my favorite carnivals is the Festival of Frugality, held this week at MoneyNing. Lots of buzz about coupon clipping these days. My Family’s Money passes on a coupon tip that makes everyone happy. One of my favorite blogs, Frugal Dad, has excellent advice on how to keep the frugal-smug factor down. It was my birthday on Tuesday; too bad I didn’t read the Happy Rock‘s post on free stuff for your birthday before then! I did get some great ice cream for free on my birthday lunch, though. I contributed my post about using the library to get new releases. This find has saved me a thousand dollars a year!

For something a little different, check out the Carnival of Home Preserving, hosted by My Daily Round. If you are (or are thinking about) canning, this is a cool one! There are lots of tips and stories from fellow bloggers. I liked these tips on freezing pesto from ChowSpice. Laura @ Laura Williams’ Musings has a recipe for homemade apple cider vinegar that is very intriguing. You’ll also find my analysis of how canning can save you money in unexpected ways.

Last, but not least, I was in the Carnival of Debt Reduction at Living Almost Large. I got some great comments on my new golden rule of shopping. Capitalcouplesfinance.com has some advice on how to figure out your own strategy for paying off debt. I agree whole heartedly; while my husband and I are throwing everything at our high-interest debt, after that we’ll go more slowly on the debt reduction. However, reading Frugal Zeitgeist’s post on paying off her mortgage does make me think twice about our strategy! Million Dollar Journey also has some top-notch advice on how to get out of debt.

Now, to the blogroll!

Kelly at Almost Frugal has very clever ideas for frugal toys for the little ones.

Lynnae at Being Frugal discusses the lost art of bartering.

Paid Twice runs the calculations on car repairs. I know it’s always a tough decision for us too!

Mrs. Micah reviews the big “personal finance gurus.” I plan to check a couple of them out!

OK, I’ve got to start packing for our trip, so I’ll cut it off here. Enjoy the blogs and have a great weekend!

7 responses to “Best of the Blogroll and Carnivals: Friday Edition

  1. Thanks for the mention! Glad you enjoyed the post.

  2. Thanks for sharing my article with your readers. Have a great weekend!

  3. Thank you for including my pesto article!

  4. Have fun camping! And hope that you’ll find the gurus interesting. Maybe I should do another post on “gurus I don’t yet know much about…”

  5. If you’d like to see a children’s story about compound interest. It’s on my site. I promise, it’ll make you smile.

  6. Thanks for the link and most of all for the round up. There are some great posts on this carnival and almost done reading them all. Have a great weekend.

  7. Thank you so much for mentioning my post. I hope you have (or “are having” or “had” as the case may be) fun on your trip.

Leave a Reply

